Happy Belated 4th of July!

Yes, I did not post over the weekend, my reasoning for not doing so were simple. Most people who surf blogs were busy doing “holiday stuff” over the weekend, as was a majority of the country. Personally, I spent the time setting off fireworks, grilling food for friends, and enjoying the company of my wife and my friends.

That said, I would like to address one topic that came up over the weekend. That of the distain that certain people have both for the country I live in, and their distain for anything that can be viewed as “patriotic”. Now, some of them would claim that they feel that patriotism has been stretched to far, that it has been politicized. They can claim that no longer is patriotism about “Our country! In her intercourse with foreign nations, may she always be in the right; but our country, right or wrong!” as Stephen Decatur said. They claim that there is no reason to be proud of where you are born through a miracle of chance, they think of themselves as part of a global community, not as part of their home community.

The problem isn’t their patriotism. The problem is that they are vehemently anti-American. They are rabid globalists, their hatred not just of their own country, but of their own birth turns them against the greatest country on the planet. They watch scenes of Americans doing anything good and heartwarming, and they decry it as a stunt or some other silly jackassery. These people aren’t Americans, these people are the heralds of doom.

Every great nation reaches a certain point where almost nothing they do can save them from collapse and their own destruction. Rome reached that point, Great Britain, Tzarist Russia, and as much as I hate to say it I believe we have now passed that point. Ladies and gentlemen, I submit to you that while our country is a wonderful place that in my mind, is right, no matter how wrong she may be in others views, our country is partially doomed because there are no longer enough people who still believe that same sentiment.

This saddens me.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Happy Belated 4th of July!”

  1. Ron Says:

    Unfortunately, I’m in agreement with you. This is China’s world to dominate now, unfortunately.

  2. Jade Says:

    I’m not sure if I agree with you or not. Personally, I view my country like I view everything else in my life; it’s not perfect, and I’m not going to pretend it is. I’ll try to change the things I can, and accept whatever I can’t. Nothing annoys me more than the idea that being patriotic means putting on a set of rose-colored glasses and pretending that we live in the most perfect place on earth. To me, a true patriot does whatever he or she can to make our country a better place; that means volunteer work, voting in elections, participating in whatever process your town or city employs to keep things running (town meetings, assemblies, etc.), speaking up when you feel something’s not right, etc.

    I also don’t believe that waving a flag, wearing a flag pin or putting a flag on everything you own makes someone any more patriotic than the next person. You can wrap shit in silk and diamonds, but it’s doesn’t change the fact that it’s shit. If you want to show me you’re a patriot, don’t stand around with a flag pinned on your lapel and your thumb stuck up your ass, go out and do something for your community and your country.

Leave a Reply

