7 years ago today

I got a phone call seven years ago today at around nine fifteen. I had been up rather late the night before, I don’t remember why, it probably had something to do with drinking with friends or similar I was after all, 21. I know I didn’t bother turning the alarm on, I didn’t have to wake up for work that day, I had planned to do absolutly nothing that day expect perhaps hang out with friends.

So my wife who was at work, called me and woke me up out of a dead and enjoyable sleep. She told me to turn on the television and watch the news. With a sigh, I did just that and flipped it to Fox, I saw what looked like a bad disaster movie on television, you know the type, ones that you normally see on the SciFi Channel at like three in the morning. I flipped to CBS, it was far to early to watch a shitty movie on television.

Every channel I flipped to was showing the same movie, they all kept showing the planes crashing into the tower. I thought it was one of those really screwy dreams that seem to real to you at the time. Eventually it dawned on me that this wasn’t a movie, that this was real, that this was actually fucking happening. I spent the whole day glued to my television set when I wasn’t using the internet to find out more information. I felt worried, confused, and fucking angry at the asshole fucks who had ruined my day of lazyness. I had been secure in my little fishbowl world where I would spend time with friends, family, and ignoring the rest of the world.

Eventually, as the days and weeks past and we as a country came to understand the height of the depravity and herosim that had occured on that day I finally came to realize what being an American meant to me. It meant being able to enjoy my life the way I want to, being able to wake up at noon, being able to spend the whole day doing nothing if I so desire. It means mom, god, guns, and apple pie. It means fuck the French. It means listening to shitty music at 3am while drunk. It means being free to choose whatever I want.

9/11 threw all that in my face, Osama made me realize that being an American is a great and wonderful thing in more ways than I could have ever imagined that day. This realization came at a horrible price, and one that I know this country was and is loathed to pay. So, for those who died that day, for those who were hurt, who lost a loved one, or who have done so since then; my thoughts and prayers are with you today.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

