November 5th.

{This post was written on November 5th and for some reason not published, only saved. That problem now is corrected.}

 

Yes, I haven’t posted in a while. I won’t go into private stuff so we’ll just let it sit there and I’ll acknowledge that I did not post for quite some time. I’ve never been a huge blogger, nor do I expect to ever become such.

That said, I know that some people in this country are celebrating, while others right now are despondant. Personally, I could fall into the despondant section in some ways, and into the apprehensive category in others. Let me say for the record that I did not vote for Barak Obama, and I did not do so because of his economic policies, social policies, constitutional ignorance, and leftward agenda. I did not vote against him because of his race as some may have, I also do not feel that his election in this country is because of anything other than the severe distaste that a large part of the electorate has for George Bush and the Republican party at the moment. This election was going to be hard on anyone with the letter “R” beside their name no matter who they were or where they lived.

Even places that traditionally vote very conservative, such as Texas, had hard tough fights for Republican candidates. That said, Obama won, and my hat is off to him. He won because of the dislike people have for the current administration, he won because his message talked to so many who felt disenfranchised because of the way the political system works, and yes, he won because he energized a large portion of a voter block who normally does not participate much in the election. Congratulations Barak Obama, you won. America, you get the president you voted for, not the one I voted for, but the one voted for by majority.

Personally, I intend to see who comes out of the woodwork to lead the Republican party during this four years, and I intend to see if they espouse the same values that I hold dear before I give them any support. Because while I may have voted for McCain, I did not like him, and would have prefered anyone else in his place.

Good Luck America, I fear we may need it.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “November 5th.”

  1. Jade Says:

    The Republicans made the same mistake with McCain that the Democrats did with Kerry in the 2004 election; they tried to make their candidate appeal to everyone instead of either picking a candidate that would naturally appeal to a wider base or letting the candidate be who he was and hope that he would appeal to more people than he put off. When you try to please everyone, you end up pleasing no one.

Leave a Reply

