So I met the Governor

So, today was a normal day for the Dealership. I had a meeting at 9am, and then didn’t have to come in until noon. Or it would have been a normal day, except for the fact that the Governor was signing a bill in our store, and we had boatloads of news and politicians inside the store. We had people from other dealerships, we had security, and we had everyone who works here all together in the showroom. The only thing missing would be a customer.

But, I got to meet the governor, I got to shake his hand, and I got to look him in the eye and introduce myself. And in doing so, I got a very strange impression of him. Like all politicians, he was smiling all the time he was here, always friendly with everyone, but the smile never touched his eyes. Not only that, but everything he said had that political doubletalk strewn all throughout it. And when I shook his hand, I felt like I was shaking hands with a dead fish. His handshake was limp, lifeless, and when I looked into his eyes, all that I saw was my reflection.

I saw nothing that looked happy or friendly at all. I have looked into the eyes of a career political democrat, a democrat who has reached high political office. And I saw nothing good in those eyes, nothing friendly, and nothing at all pleasant.

I am proud of the fact I did not vote for him, and after meeting him today, I would go back and vote against him again in a heartbeat. I am a political junkie, I eat this kind of stuff up for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Yet this bit of politics… it disgusted me. Now I understand why his critics who have met him are so harsh. He is a picture perfect example of the soulless politician.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

